The story of Denis and his Amazing Animals

The story of Denis and his Amazing Animals

My name is Denis Hakizimana.  I am 32 years old and I was born in the Southern province of Rwanda in the district of Nyanza in 1987. In 1994 during the Genocide against Tutsis, I lost my father at a very young age and after when I was 11 years old, my mother left me and married another man.

Afterwards I came to Kigali in 2005 and in 2008 I met Meg, joined the tailoring classes in Kinamba Community Project and from then life started to change. I started making the animals from using fabrics, and with the help of Meg I managed to sell a lot of them. Meg would many times show me how to make them, sometimes show me how to draw them before they are yet to be made, and a lot more and also help with selling them. Now I am father of 2 children and I am very happy with my wife. I continue to make animals dolls and bags from the fabrics and everything is going well. I opened up a small business where I make the things from and I have 4 permanent staff with some other temporary staff members who come depending on how much work is available.

So far, I have made some achievements which also go in hand with meeting different people as my business expands.  Now the quality of the things I make has improved and I have gained some marketing skills that I never had before, a lot has changed and I never knew it could be this way, but still there is along way to go and I thank Meg so much for the help she has offered. My life has truly changed.

Discount with Newsletter Subscription

 Subscribe to our newsletter to receive 10% off your first order!